Staff Directory

Athletics Contact Information

Mailing Address

Youngstown State University
Athletic Department
One University Plaza
Youngstown, OH 44555

Fax Numbers

Athletic Director/Business Office/Penguin Club: (330) 941-2733
Ticket Office/Marketing: (330) 941-1534
Sports Information/Compliance: (330) 941-3191
Men's and Women's Basketball: (330) 941-2969
Football/Soccer/Softball: (330) 941-3191
Volleyball/XC/Golf/Track & Field/Swimming & Diving/Baseball/Women's Bowling: (330) 941-2163
Training Room: (330) 941-1918
Watson and Tressel Training Site: (330) 941-3685

University Directory

Administration

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Ron Strollo Executive Director of Intercollegiate Athletics (330) 941-2385
Elaine Jacobs Associate Director of Athletics/SWA (330) 941-2282 eajacobs@ysu.edu
Rick Love Associate Director of Athletics (330) 941-7227 rwlove@ysu.edu
Robb Schmidt Assistant Athletic Director (330) 941-7226 rkschmidt01@ysu.edu
Tom Morella Assistant Athletic Director (330) 941-2351 tmorella@ysu.edu
John Brown Assistant Director of Athletics for Sales & Event Management (330) 941-7229 jbrown01@ysu.edu
Emily Wollet Assistant Athletic Director (330) 941-7208 eewollet@ysu.edu
Jesse Potter Assistant Athletic Director (330) 941-2283 jwpotter@ysu.edu
Jim Morrison Associate Athletic Director for The Penguin Club (330) 941-3720 jwmorrison@ysu.edu
John Tomsich Assistant Athletic Director for The Penguin Club (330) 941-3801 jdtomsich@ysu.edu
Jim Culcasi Penguin Club Treasurer (330) 941-3720 jdculcasi@aol.com
Dave Hinkle Athletics Business Manager (330) 941-3717 dshinkle@ysu.edu
Connie Eddy Assistant Business Manager (330) 941-3718 ceddy@ysu.edu
Steve Pinciaro Coordinator of Athletic Business and Facilities (330) 941-2385 swpinciaro@ysu.edu
Mary Arroyo Business Office Assistant (330) 941-1910 marroyo@ysu.edu
Nicole Kent-Strollo YSU Director of Student Outreach and Support (330) 941-4703 nkentstrollo@ysu.edu
Dr. Chet Cooper NCAA Faculty Athletics Representative (330) 941-1361 crcooper01@ysu.edu

Academic Advisors

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Marilyn O'Bruba Coordinator of Athletic Academic Advising (330) 941-1921 maobruba@ysu.edu
Marty Hyden Athletic Academic Advisor (330) 941-3766 mlhyden@ysu.edu

Athletic Training

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
John Doneyko Head Athletic Trainer (330) 941-3190 jwdoneyko@ysu.edu
Todd Burkey Assistant Athletic Trainer (330) 941-3190 teburkey@ysu.edu
Jenna Lesko Assistant Athletic Trainer (330) 941-3190 jmlesko@ysu.edu
Jeff Wills Assistant Athletic Trainer (330) 941-3190 jcwills01@ysu.edu
Sarah Sydor Assistant Athletic Trainer (330) 941-3190 ssydor@ysu.edu
Julia Slepko Assistant Athletic Trainer (330) 941-3190 jmslepko@ysu.edu

Equipment

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Alvy Armstrong Head Equipment Manager (330) 941-3725 adarmstrong@ysu.edu
Tim Gallo Assistant Equipment Manager (330) 941-3725 tjgallo@ysu.edu

Facilities

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Tim Stuart Assistant Athletic Director (330) 941-2887 testuart@ysu.edu
Matt Rollins Coordinator of Athletic Facilities and Programs (330) 941-3671 mcrollins@ysu.edu
Joe Alexander Recreation Facilities Manager jalexander01@ysu.edu

Spirit Squad

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Michelle Markota Spirit Squad & Mascot Advisor markota00@att.net
Jenna Schneider Spirit Squad & Mascot Advisor jsstacy10@gmail.com

Sports Information

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Trevor Parks Sports Information Director (330) 941-3192 tparks@ysu.edu
Jamie Hall Assistant Sports Information Director (330) 941-1581 jehall@ysu.edu
John Vogel Assistant Sports Information Director (330) 941-1480 javogel@ysu.edu

Strength & Conditioning

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Mark Brandenstein Football Strength & Condititioning Coordinator mabrandenstein@ysu.edu
Charles Jasper Assistant Strength & Conditioning Coach cejasper@ysu.edu
Brian Sklenar Assistant Strength & Condititioning Coordinator bjsklenar@ysu.edu
Liz Vlad Assistant Strength & Conditioning Coordinator eavlad@ysu.edu

Ticket Office

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Eric McLellan Manager of Athletic Ticket Operations (330) 941-7466 emmclellan@ysu.edu
Sheryl Schuff Manager of Athletic Ticket Operations (330) 941-3482 smschuff@ysu.edu

Baseball

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Dan Bertolini Head Baseball Coach dabertolini@ysu.edu
Josh Merrigan Assistant Baseball Coach jjmerrigan@ysu.edu
Eric Smith Assistant Baseball Coach emsmith08@ysu.edu
Ryan Krokos Volunteer Assistant Coach / Camp Coordinator krokosryan@gmail.com

Men's Basketball

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Jerry Slocum Head Men's Basketball Coach (330) 941-3004
Michael Wernicki Associate Men's Basketball Head Coach (330) 941-3004 mwernicki@ysu.edu
Stew Robinson Assistant Coach (330) 941-3004 fsrobinson@ysu.edu
Kevin Bruinsma Assistant Coach (330) 941-3004 kwbruinsma@ysu.edu
Matt Lynch Director of Basketball Operations (330) 941-3712 mtlynch@ysu.edu
Danny Reese Administrative Assistant (330) 941-3004 dreese816@gmail.com

Women's Basketball

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
John Barnes Head Women's Basketball Coach (330) 941-3004 jmbarnes@ysu.edu
Andy Crane Assistant Women's Basketball Coach (330) 941-3004 acrane@ysu.edu
John Nicolais Assistant Women's Basketball Coach (330) 941-3004 jnicolais@ysu.edu
Sam Hoyt Assistant Women's Basketball Coach (330) 941-3004 shoyt@ysu.edu
Teonna Jewell Director of Women's Basketball Operations (330) 941-3004 tdjewell@ysu.edu

Women's Bowling

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Chelsea Gilliam Head Women's Bowling Coach cegilliam@ysu.edu

Cross Country

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Brian Gorby Head Cross Country Coach bdgorby@ysu.edu
Nicole Kent-Strollo Assistant Track & Field/Cross Country Coach nkentstrollo@ysu.edu
Eric Rupe Volunteer Assistant Coach
Ashley Smith Volunteer Assistant Coach amsmith14@student.ysu.edu

Football

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Bo Pelini Head Football Coach
Shane Montgomery Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks Coach smontgomery@ysu.edu
Carl Pelini Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers capelini@ysu.edu
Ron Stoops, Jr. Special Teams Coordinator rwstoops@ysu.edu
Carmen Bricillo Offensive Line Coach cjbricillo@ysu.edu
Brian Crist Wide Receivers Coach bdcrist@ysu.edu
Nic McKissic-Luke Running Backs Coach ndmckissicluke@ysu.edu
Richard McNutt Defensive Backs Coach/Recruiting Coordinator rkmcnutt@ysu.edu
Donald D'Alesio Defensive Line Coach dmdalesio@ysu.edu
Joe Ganz Tight Ends Coach jjganz@ysu.edu
Tim Marlowe Assistant Secondary Coach tcmarlowe@ysu.edu
John Murphy Director of Football Operations jtmurphy03@ysu.edu
Rollen Smith Assistant Director of Football Operations rtsmith03@ysu.edu
Mark Brandenstein Football Strength & Condititioning Coordinator mabrandenstein@ysu.edu
Mark Preto Football Video Coordinator mapreto@ysu.edu
Travis Tislaretz Offense Quality Control twtislaretz@student.ysu.edu
Seth Antram
Chris Marsco Undergraduate Assistant Football Coach
Nico Mancuso

Men's Golf

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Tony Joy Head Men's Golf Coach tjoy@ysu.edu
Josh Zarlenga Assistant Coach jzarlenga@hbkcpa.com

Women's Golf

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Nate Miklos Head Women's Golf Coach (724) 979-1192 nmiklos@ysu.edu
Emily Dixon Assistant Women's Golf Coach ejdixon@student.ysu.edu

Soccer

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Fabio Boateng Head Women's Soccer Coach nakuamoahboateng@ysu.edu
Megan Giesen Assistant Coach mgiesen@student.ysu.edu

Softball

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Brian Campbell Head Softball Coach bcampbell@ysu.edu
Sara Zilles Assistant Coach smzilles@ysu.edu
Kiana Quolas Assistant Coach krquolas@student.ysu.edu
Miranda Castiglione Volunteer Assistant Coach

Swimming & Diving

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Matt Anderson Head Swimming & Diving Coach mlanderson04@ysu.edu
Nick Gavolas Diving Coach (330) 207-5491 nickdive@aol.com
Kate Johnson Assistant Swimming & Diving Coach Kljohnson12@ysu.edu
Jaqueline Smith Assistant Swimming and Diving Coach jesmith05@ysu.edu

Tennis

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Mickael Sopel Head Men's and Women's Tennis Coach msopel@ysu.edu
Vince Hill Assistant Tennis Coach richvhill@gmail.com
Silviu Mistreanu Graduate Assistant Coach dmistreanu@student.ysu.edu

Track & Field

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Brian Gorby Head Track & Field/Cross Country Coach bdgorby@ysu.edu
David Townsend Assistant Track & Field Coach (Sprints) dtown23253@aol.com
Katrina Brumfield Assistant Track & Field Coach (Jumps/Multis) kbrumfield@ysu.edu
Nicole Kent-Strollo Assistant Track & Field/Cross Country Coach nkentstrollo@ysu.edu
Rick Penniman Assistant Track & Field Coach (Pole Vault) rdpenniman@ysu.edu
Conner Neu Assistant Track and Field Coach (Throws) cpneu@ysu.edu
John Seaver Assistant Track and Field Coach (Throws) jsseaver@ysu.edu
Eric Rupe Volunteer Assistant Coach
Ashley Smith Volunteer Assistant Coach amsmith14@student.ysu.edu

Volleyball

View Headshot Format
Name Title Phone Email
Mark Hardaway Head Volleyball Coach (419) 575-2829 mwhardaway@ysu.edu
Sarah Smith Assistant Volleyball Coach slsmith11@ysu.edu
Jessie Gerig Graduate Assistant jlgerig@student.ysu.edu
Leona Oani Volunteer Assistant Coach