Athletic Training

Athletic Training Staff
Ethan Solger Todd Burkey Jenna Lesko Sarah Sydor Jeff Wills Julia Slepko

Head Athletic Trainer

Ethan Solger | easolger@ysu.edu | Bio
Football

Assistant Athletic Trainers

Todd Burkey | teburkey@ysu.edu | Bio
Men's Basketball, Women's Tennis

Jenna Lesko | jmlesko@ysu.edu | Bio
Football (Assistant), Women's Golf

Sarah Sydor | ssydor@ysu.edu | Bio
Women's Basketball, Men's Tennis

Jeff Wills | jcwills01@ysu.edu | Bio
Soccer, Bowling

Julia Slepko | jmslepko@ysu.edu | Bio
Cross Country, Track & Field

Graduate Assistants

Jason Combs | jcombs01@student.ysu.edu
Baseball

Megan Fox | mfox02@student.ysu.edu
Softball

Stephanie Golec | sngolec@student.ysu.edu
Volleyball

Dana Matz | dematz@student.ysu.edu
Football

Qian Zhang
Swimming & Diving | qzhang@student.ysu.edu

YSU student-athletes have two impressive sports medicine centers at their disposal to treat and prevent injuries.

The Willard Webster Sports Medicine Center inside of Stambaugh Stadium is the main hub and serves the majority of YSU's athletic teams. There is also a training and rehabilitation room in Beeghly Center that caters to the needs of the volleyball, swimming and diving, mens’ and women’s golf, and men's and women's basketball squads. The centers are well-equipped to handle any needs with the latest available and innovative equipment for the care and prevention of injuries.

Ethan Solger serves as the Penguins' Head Athletic Trainer. Solger took over the staff in the summer of 2017. He will directly oversee the athletic training needs of the football program. The staff of assistant athletic trainers includes Jenna Lesko, Jeff Wills, Todd Burkey, Sarah Sydor, and Julia Slepko. Also, graduate assistants and numerous master’s of athletic training students are on hand throughout the year and work closely with all teams attending games (home and away) and practices.

The Penguins staff is assisted by a host of health care professionals in the Youngstown area, providing state-of-the-art care in prevention and treatment of athletic injuries. Dr. Ray Duffett MD, Dr. James Shina MD, Dr. J.J. Stefancin MD, Dr. Bob Johnson DDS, Dr. Eric Johnson DDS, Dr. Chris Raymond D.C., and Dr. Matt Narducci MD are on hand for all home football and basketball contests and work with all sports throughout the year.

Willard Webster Sports Medicine Center

The football program, track & field, women’s soccer, baseball, softball, and men’s and women’s tennis are served by the Willard Webster Sports Medicine Center on the first level of Stambaugh Stadium. The Center is well equipped to handle any needs with the latest available and innovative equipment for the care and prevention of injuries.

With the support of YSU's sports medicine staff, the community’s physicians and their facilities, student-athletes can compete with the confidence that they are afforded the best care possible.

Phone Number: (330) 941-3190

Located in Room 1103 of Stambaugh Stadium

Beeghly Center Athletic Training & Rehabilitation Room

The Beeghly Center Athletic Training & Rehabilitation Room caters to the needs of volleyball, women’s golf, swimming & diving, and men's and women's basketball student-athletes.

Located on the lower level of the building, the Training Room is used throughout the volleyball, basketball, women’s golf, and swimming and diving campaigns. The Center is well equipped to handle any needs with the latest available and innovative equipment for the care and prevention of injuries. Rehabilitation equipment along with treatment tables and the latest in sports medicine innovations are available to the student-athlete.

Phone Number: (330) 941-3726

Located in Room 108 of Beeghly Center

Phone Number: (330) 941-3726
Located in Room 108 of Beeghly Center (lower level next to men's basketball locker room)