Football

 
August 8, 2011

Penguins Add Shoulder Pads to Repertoire on Day Three

The Youngstown State football team added shoulder pads for the first time to its fall practice repertoire on Monday afternoon at Stambaugh Stadium. While practice started in the rain, the second half of the up-tempo workout was held under sunny skies.

YSU continued to work on individual drills and spent a bulk of the practice time on offense vs. defense situations. The offensive and defensive lines went toe-to-toe in the North end zone while the wide receivers, quarterback and tight ends took on the linebackers and secondary in 7-on-7 play.

The final 30 minutes featured combination work. Wide receiver Juilian Harrell and tight end Nate Adams had touchdown receptions while free safety Josh Garner intercepted a tipped pass. Senior wide receiver Andre Barboza had a great diving catch to highlight the other performances.

 The final 10 plays of the scrimmage featured the top offense agianst the No. 1 defense and pitted the second-team units against each other. The defense won both sessions meaning the offense had to do sprints following the workout.

The Penguins return to the Stadium turf tomorrow for a workout at 4 p.m. in shoulder pads.

YSU opens the season on Friday, Sept. 2 at Michigan State. The contest will be televised on the Big Ten Network and carried on 570 WKBN AM.

Season and Individual Game Tickets for the 2011 season are now on sale through the YSU Athletic Ticket Office. For ticket information contact the YSU Athletic Ticket Office at (330) 941-1978.

Next 10 Practice Days

Tuesday, August 9 – 4 p.m.
Wednesday, August 10 – 4 p.m.
Thursday, August 11 – 4 p.m.
Friday, August 12 – 4 p.m.
Saturday, August 13 – 9 a.m. and 5 p.m.
Sunday, August 14 -- OFF
Monday, August 15 – 9 a.m. and 5 p.m.
Tuesday, August 16 – 10 a.m.
Wednesday, August 17 – 9 a.m. and 5 p.m.
Thursday, August 18 – 10 a.m.