Penguins Get Set for First Full-Pad Practice of Fall Camp

YSU Football practice
YSU Football practice

The Youngstown State football team is one day away from wearing full pads for the first time this fall. YSU worked out for two-plus hours on Monday at Stambaugh Stadium.

After practicing in the WATTS on Sunday, the Penguins returned to the Stadium for Monday's workout. Both practices were held in shoulder pads and helmets.

The defense continued to impress while the offense caught fire in the two-minute drill. With 1:16 on the clock, quarterback Kurt Hess hit a big-gainer to Jelani Berassa. Also, Hess found Andre Stubbs on a deep ball.

The Penguins worked on individual drills for the first hour before spending time on kickoff coverages. YSU spent a good 25 minutes on offense vs. defense situations during the latter part of the workout.

YSU will practice in full pads on Tuesday at 4 p.m. at Stambaugh Stadium.

Season tickets for the 2012 season are on sale now at the YSU Athletic Ticket Office. Call (330) 941-1978 for more information.

UPCOMING PRACTICES (All scheduled for Stambaugh Stadium and subject to change)

Tuesday, August 7 - 4 p.m.
Wednesday, August 8 - 9 a.m./5 p.m.
Thursday, August 9 - 10 a.m.
Friday, August 10 - 9 a.m./5 p.m.
Saturday, August 11 - 10 a.m. (SCRIMMAGE)
Monday, August 13 - 9 a.m./ 5 p.m.
Tuesday, August 14 - 10 a.m.
Wednesday, August 15 - 9 a.m./5 p.m.
Thursday, August 16 - 10 a.m.
Friday, August 17 - 10 a.m.
Saturday, August 18 - 10 a.m. (SCRIMMAGE)
Monday, August 20 - 10 a.m.
Tuesday, August 21 - 10 a.m.