Penguins Don Full Pads for First Time This Fall

YSU Football practice
YSU Football practice

The Youngstown State football team put on full pads for the first time this fall on Tuesday evening at Stambaugh Stadium. In a solid two-plus hour practice both units made strides, Head Coach Eric Wolford said.

YSU spent the first hour on individual work with the position coaches. That followed with a combination and group period. The Penguins then spent time on special teams working on punt coverages.

In the team period, the offense started to find a rhythm against the defense. Quarterbacks Kurt Hess, Patrick Angle and Dante Nania all found receivers along the sidelines at some point during the workout.

For the first time this fall the Penguins spent time on red-zone situations. Adaris Bellamy took a pitch around the end for a six-yard touchdown run showing good speed after coming off a season-ending knee injury against North Dakota State last November.

The Penguins return to practice on Wednesday morning. The first session is set is 8 a.m. while the night cap will be at 5 p.m. The morning's workout will be in full pads and has been moved up an hour from the previously scheduled 9 a.m. start time.

Season tickets for the 2012 season are on sale now at the YSU Athletic Ticket Office. Call (330) 941-1978 for more information.

UPCOMING PRACTICES (All scheduled for Stambaugh Stadium and subject to change)

Wednesday, August 8 - 8 a.m./5 p.m.
Thursday, August 9 - 10 a.m.
Friday, August 10 - 9 a.m./5 p.m.
Saturday, August 11 - 10 a.m. (SCRIMMAGE)
Monday, August 13 - 9 a.m./ 5 p.m.
Tuesday, August 14 - 10 a.m.
Wednesday, August 15 - 9 a.m./5 p.m.
Thursday, August 16 - 10 a.m.
Friday, August 17 - 10 a.m.
Saturday, August 18 - 10 a.m. (SCRIMMAGE)
Monday, August 20 - 10 a.m.
Tuesday, August 21 - 10 a.m.