Warm Weather Greets Penguins as Spring Football Starts

YSU Spring Football
YSU Spring Football

The Youngstown State football team opened spring practice in August-like heat on Wednesday afternoon at Stambaugh Stadium. Working out in helmets, YSU practiced for more than two hours as temperatures reached a March 21 record-high 79 degrees for the Youngstown area.

During the practice, the Penguins worked on individual sessions, special teams, 7-on-7 and 9-on-7 situations and a variety of other team drills.

What was most apparent about Wednesday's workout was the intensity of defensive coordinator Joe Tresey, the talent on the squad has improved dramatically and the team's speed has seen a drastic improvement.

On offense, YSU returns all 11 starters from last year and it showed when that unit was together. Junior quarterback Kurt Hess had a solid first outing and the return of Andre Stubbs helped bolster the units speed.

For newcomers Julius Childs, Twin Fernandes, Terry Johnson and Chris Charles it was their first workout with the program.

To highlight the defense, Johnson and Neal had interceptions while linebackers Teven Williams, Travis Williams and Dom Rich drew praise for third-year head coach Eric Wolford.

Wolford said another reason the Penguins were able to play at high level was because work they did in the WATTS during the offseason. He said you can see a new sense of urgency on defense with the changes that occurred on that side of the ball with the coaching staff.

Wolford said the goal this spring is to improve everyday. Fundamentals and the work ethic that the Penguins utilize this spring will go along way to having success in the fall.

YSU will practice in helmets on Friday afternoon before gearing up in full pads for Saturday morning's workout. For those wondering, the previous high for a March 21 in Youngstown was 70 degrees set back in 1948.

For Ticket Information contact the YSU Ticket Office at (330) 941-1978. Season-ticket packages are on sale now.

PRACTICE SCHEDULE

Friday, March 23 – Practice 4-6:30 p.m.
Saturday, March 24 – Practice 10:15 a.m.
Monday, March 26 – Practice 4-6:20 p.m.
Wednesday, March 28 – Practice 4-6:20 p.m.
Friday, March 30 – Practice 4-6 p.m.
Saturday, March 31 – 10:55 a.m. (Scrimmage)
Monday, April 2 – Practice 4:15-6:25 p.m.
Wednesday, April 4 – Practice 4-6:30 p.m.
Friday, April 6 – Practice 4-5:15 p.m.
Saturday, April 7 – 10:30 a.m. (Scrimmage)
Monday, April 9 – Practice 4-6:35 p.m.
Wednesday, April 11 – Practice 4-5:35 p.m.
Friday, April 13 –40th Annual Red-White Spring Game – 7:30 p.m.