Men's Basketball Announces Award Winners at Annual Banquet

Men's Basketball Announces Award Winners at Annual Banquet

More than 150 people were in attendance for the Youngstown State Men's Basketball Annual Postseason Awards Banquet on Sunday afternoon at the Chestnut Room in Kilcawley Center.

Junior Kendrick Perry took home the Dom Rosselli Coaches Award/Most Valuable Player as well as the Assist Champion after averaging 4.1 assists per game and the top free-throwing award after connecting on 84.5 percent of his charity tosses.

Perry, who was named All-Horizon League First-Team, Horizon League All-Defensive Team andNABC All-District First Team, ranked second in the league in scoring (17.3 ppg), tied for the league lead in steals per game (1.9), third in assist-to-turnover ratio (2.0), fifth in free-throw percentage (84.5%) and sixth in assists per game (4.1). He also ranked tied for eight in rebounding (5.5 rpg).

Perry also became the 33rd player in school history to score 1,000 career points. and ranks 17th all-time with 1,309 career points.

Senior Damian Eargle earned the Leo Mogus Rebounding Award after leading the team with 6.6 rebounds per game, which ranked third in the Horizon League. Eargle was named the Horizon League Defensive Player of the Year after leading the league in blocks for the second straight season. He finished with 102 blocks for an average of 3.2 blocks per game.

Eargle, who set the school and Horizon League career blocks records with 309, is the only player in school history with 1,000 points, 620 rebounds and 300 blocks in a career.

Senior Blake Allen was given the Bill Dailey Leadership Award. Allen was the only player to start all 34 games for the Penguins in 2012-13 and averaged 12.4 points per game. He set the YSU single-season record with 94 3-pointers made and owns the YSU career record with 232 made 3-pointers, set in 2012-13.

This season, he ranked 12th in scoring and led the league with 94 3-pointers, 2.8 3's per game and a 2.5 assist-to-turnover ratio.

The Penguin Club Most Improved Player Award went to junior Kamren Belin. Belin was named to the Horizon League All-Newcomer Team and averaged 12.3 points per game against Horizon League opponents.

Junior Mike Poldolsky was named the Four-Square Scholar-Athlete. The Canfield, Ohio, native has a cumulative grade-point average in pre-business finance.