Horizon League Basketball Championship Tickets Go On Sale This Thursday

Motor City Madness
Motor City Madness

All tickets for the 2017 Little Caesars Horizon League Men's and Women's Basketball Championship at Joe Louis Arena will go on sale Thursday, Dec. 29 at 10 a.m. ET. Fans can purchase tickets at MotorCityMadness.HorizonLeague.com/tickets, the Joe Louis Arena Box Office, or the Joe Louis Arena Ticket Sales and Service Office at 313-471-7575.

With tickets starting at $15 per day, the annual conference championship set to take place March 3-7 will feature all 20 teams playing in 18 games during a five-day span in Detroit.

"Motor City Madness," which will feature the men's and women's tournament held in the same venue, will include a pair of championship games on March 7 with automatic berths to the NCAA Basketball Tournament on the line.

Starting at $45, all-session tickets will cover all 18 games of the tournament. Fans can purchase school fan section tickets until March 1 by visiting MotorCityMadness.HorizonLeague.com/tickets and clicking on the appropriate school link.

Fans purchasing an all-session ticket before February 20 will also receive a complimentary "Motor City Madness" team hat, which will be redeemable throughout the tournament on the Joe Louis Arena concourse.

Last year, "Motor City Madness" welcomed 20,908 fans to Joe Louis Arena, as the men's tournament was played in Detroit for the first time. With Little Caesars Arena set to open in the fall of 2017, this is the final season that the championship will be hosted at Joe Louis Arena. Affectionately known as the "Farewell Season at the Joe," this year's tournament is one of several events to be hosted at the historic venue.

The ESPN family of networks will televise all 18 games, on ESPN, ESPN2, ESPN3 or ESPNU.

The Horizon League men's and women's basketball tournament is returning to a single-site format for the first time since 1992. For the latest information on teams, fan activities and the city of Detroit, visit MotorCityMadness.HorizonLeague.com.


Home of the 11-time Stanley Cup Champion Detroit Red Wings and numerous concerts and events, including the Horizon League Men's and Women's Basketball Championship, Joe Louis Arena proudly stands along the banks of the Detroit River. The 20,027-seat arena opened its doors in 1979 and replaced the Red Wings' former home of Olympia Stadium. Joe Louis Arena is named after former boxer and heavyweight champion, Joe Louis, who grew up in the Detroit Area.

Since playing at The Joe, the Red Wings have won four Stanley Cup Championships (1997, 1998, 2002 and 2008), and have clinched the playoffs in 25 consecutive seasons, the longest active streak in North American professional sports.

Green Bay captured the first edition of Motor City Madness in a thrilling, 78-69 victory over Wright State.

BUILT: 1977-79, completed 19 days ahead of schedule

CAPACITY: 20,027

NUMBER OF SUITES: 67 (62 suites and 5 super suites)

FIRST EVENT: December 12, 1979, basketball game between the University of Detroit Mercy and the University of Michigan

FIRST HOCKEY GAME: December 27, 1979, Detroit Red Wings vs. St. Louis Blues (St. Louis 3, Detroit 2); attendance 19,742

FIRST HORIZON LEAGUE BASKETBALL TOURNAMENT GAME: March 5, 2016, Green Bay vs. Cleveland State in Game 1 of the Little Caesars Horizon League Men's Basketball Tournament. Last basketball game played prior was the Detroit Shock vs. Sacramento Monarchs in Game 6 of the WNBA Finals on September 9, 2006.


In its 38th season of operation in the 2016-17 academic year, the Horizon League continues to aspire toward its goal of being one of the nation's leading athletics conferences while being recognized as a leader in the development of student-athletes as leaders and role models. Each of the League's 2,600 Division I student-athletes has the opportunity to maximize athletic development and academic achievement, while also serving the broader community and growing in personal responsibility and accountability. Through athletics, the 150,000-plus undergraduates among Horizon League institutions have the opportunity to come together, learn and grow in life skills and opportunities.

The Horizon League membership features ten public and private institutions that have impressive academic reputations and a storied tradition of broad-based athletic programs. Membership includes Cleveland State University, the University of Detroit Mercy, the University of Illinois at Chicago, Northern Kentucky University, Oakland University, Valparaiso University, the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay, the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Wright State University and Youngstown State University.

The Horizon League's primary focus is on adding value to the educational experience through its core values: student-athlete well-being, integrity, respect and stewardship. It is the League's belief that athletics is a powerful and visible resource tool that can be used to enhance student-athletes' collegiate experience. The Horizon League's goals are to enhance the holistic university experience for the student-athlete, to create an affiliation of institutions with similar athletic goals, and to adhere to the principals of integrity, diversity, excellence and growth. The Horizon League sponsors competition in 19 sports - nine for men (baseball, basketball, cross country, golf, soccer, swimming and diving, indoor track and field, outdoor track and field and tennis) and 10 for women (basketball, cross country, golf, soccer, softball, swimming and diving, indoor track and field, outdoor track and field, tennis and volleyball).

The League receives automatic bids to NCAA championships in baseball, men's and women's basketball, men's golf, men's and women's soccer, softball, men's and women's tennis, women's volleyball, and for the first time in League history, women's golf. The Horizon League is headquartered in Indianapolis, the "Amateur Sports Capital of the World," with offices in the Pan American Plaza (201 S. Capitol Avenue), located a block from Lucas Oil Stadium and just minutes from Bankers Life Fieldhouse, the State Capitol Building, Victory Field (home of the Indianapolis Indians) and the NCAA national office.