Field is Set for This Week’s Horizon League Baseball Tournament at Eastwood Field

Head Coach Steve Gillispie
Head Coach Steve Gillispie

Horizon League regular season champion Milwaukee will be the top seed in the 2013 conference tournament that begins Wednesday at Eastwood Field in Niles, Ohio. The winner of the tournament will receive an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.

Fifth-seeded and host Youngstown State will play fourth-seeded Wright State in the first game of the tournament on Wednesday at 3 p.m. There will be three games on Thursday, starting with No. 2 UIC vs. No. 3 Valparaiso at 11 a.m. Milwaukee will play the winner of the Youngstown State-Wright State game at 3 p.m. on Thursday, and the first elimination game of the tournament will be at 7 p.m.

The winners bracket final will be the second of three games on Friday at 3 p.m. It will be surrounded by elimination games at 11 a.m. and 7 p.m.

The championship game will be at 11 a.m. on Saturday, and, if the team emerging from the losers bracket wins that contest, a winner-take-all game will start at 3 p.m.

Tickets will be on sale at the Eastwood Field front gate on each day of the tournament. Admission to Wednesday's single game will be $5, and single-day passes for Thursday, Friday or Saturday will be $10. An all-tournament pass, good for admission to every game, will be $25. Horizon League students with a valid ID and children aged 10-and-under and accompanied by an adult will be admitted free. Fans with questions should call the Youngstown State ticket office at (330) 941-1978.

2013 Horizon League Baseball Tournament (All times ET)

Wednesday, May 22
Game 1 – 3 p.m. – (5) Youngstown State vs. (4) Wright State

Thursday, May 23
Game 2 – 11 a.m. – (3) Valparaiso vs. (2) UIC
Game 3 – 3 p.m. – Game 1 Winner vs. (1) Milwaukee
Game 4 – 7 p.m. – Game 1 Loser vs. Game 2 Loser

Friday, May 24
Game 5 – 11 a.m. – Game 3 Loser vs. Game 4 Winner
Game 6 – 3 p.m. – Game 2 Winner vs. Game 3 Winner
Game 7 – 7 p.m. – Game 6 Loser vs. Game 5 Winner

Saturday, May 25
Game 8 – 11 a.m. – Game 6 Winner vs. Game 7 Winner
Game 9 – 3 p.m. – Game 8 Winner vs. Game 8 Loser** (Only necessary if Game 7 Winner wins Game 8. If Game 6 Winner wins Game 8, the tournament is over)