Larivee, Yarabinec Earn Horizon League Baseball Honors

2014 YSU Baseball
2014 YSU Baseball

Youngstown State freshmen Alex Larivee and Kevin Yarabinec both earned Horizon League postseason accolades as the conference announced its baseball award winners on Tuesday afternoon.

Larivee, a native of Sacramento, Calif., was named Second-Team All-Horizon League as an outfielder and was also voted onto the All-Freshman Team. Yarabinec, a native of Sharpsville, Pa., joined him on the All-Freshman Team.

"Both of these young men are deserving of their recognition by the Horizon League," YSU head coach Steve Gillispie said. "Alex was one of the better offensive players in the league at his position. Kevin was, without a doubt, one of the better relievers in the league and consistently shut teams down at the back end of games. The two are a big part of the reason we are optimistic about the future of our program."

Larivee was the Penguins' top hitter for most of the season and finished second on the team with a .287 batting average in his freshman campaign. He posted a team-high seven stolen bases while tying for the team lead by making 42 starts. Larivee batted .300 with five steals against Horizon League opponents. He twice reached base in 16 consecutive games during the season.

Yarabinec was tied-for-third in the Horizon League with four saves and had the third-best ERA in the conference among players who made at least eight appearances. He finished the season with a 1.89 ERA over 17 appearances while posting four saves and a 1-2 record.  He struck out 21 batters in 19 innings and held opponents to a .208 batting average. He allowed one earned run in 9.2 innings against league teams.

Milwaukee senior Ryan Solberg was named the Horizon League Player of the Year, and Wright State's Joey Hoelzel and Valaraiso's Dalton Lundeen shared Co-Pitcher-the-Year honors. Wright State's Andrew Elliott was named the Relief Pitcher of the Year, and fellow Raider Sean Murphy was the Freshman of the Year. Wright State's Greg Lovelady was voted the conference Coach of the Year.