Kendrick Earns Third Horizon League Batter-of-the-Week Award

Andrew Kendrick
Andrew Kendrick

Youngstown State junior first baseman Andrew Kendrick has been named the Horizon League Batter of the Week for the period ending April 2, the conference office announced on Monday. It is the third time in the first seven weeks of the season that Kendrick has earned the honor.

Kendrick hit three home runs and batted .455 in YSU's series at Northern Kentucky over the weekend. He hit a solo homer in the series opener, and the Springfield, Mo., native hit a solo home run and a three-run blast against the Norse on Saturday. He posted a .571 on-base percentage and a 1.273 slugging percentage for the week.

Kendrick is just the second Penguin to be named the Horizon League Batter of the Week three times in the same season, joining Jeremy Banks in 2012. Kendrick is one of seven players in conference history to be the batter/player of the week three times in the same season, and he has seven weeks to try and become the first to earn the honor four times in the same season.

Kendrick leads the country in home runs per game with 0.55, and he ranks fifth in total home runs with 11. The junior is seventh nationally in slugging percentage (.789) and 20th in RBIs per game (1.25). He tops the Horizon League in each of those categories as well.

Youngstown State has four games this week. YSU will play at Kent State on Tuesday at 4 p.m., and it will begin a three-game series against Horizon League-leading Wright State on Friday at 3 p.m.

Penguins who have been the Horizon League Batter/Player of the Week three times:

  1. Drew Dosch – March 21, 2011; March 4, 2013; April 22, 2013
  2. Jeremy Banks – March 5, 2012; March 12, 2012; April 30, 2012
  3. Andrew Kendrick – Feb 20, 2017; Feb. 27; 2017; April 3, 2017
Players to be named Horizon League Player/Batter of the Week three times in one season
  1. Keith Lillash, Cleveland State – 2000
  2. Curtis Granderson, UIC – 2002
  3. Charlie Anderson, Detroit Mercy – 2004
  4. Bart Babineaux, UIC – 2006
  5. Jeremy Banks, Youngstown State – 2012
  6. Sam Koenig, Milwaukee – 2015
  7. Andrew Kendrick, Youngstown State - 2017