First Two-A-Day Session Goes Well; Spirits High As Workouts Continue

YSU Football practice
YSU Football practice

The Youngstown State football team practiced on Wednesday morning and afternoon at Stambaugh Stadium. The morning session was in full pads while the Penguins worked out in just shoulder pads in the later workout.

In the morning session, the Penguins spent time working on situations and were back in the red zone. Quarterback Kurt Hess tossed a nice over-the-shoulder pass to Kevin Watts in the back corner of the end zone. Later in the workout the defense forced Hess to scramble out of the pocket and throw the ball away.

Two highlights of the morning session were some solid hits. SS Jeremey Edwards got a good pop on wide receiver Jelani Berassa while TB Jamaine Cook knocked down Dom Rich on a run by Adaris Bellamy. Both players bounced right back into action.

In the afternoon, practice began at Stambaugh Stadium before inclement weather forced the Penguins into the WATTS for the second half of the workout.

YSU spent a productive hour in the WATTS working first on kickoff returns before moving into 7-on-7 drills. Like the morning practice, the  Guins worked on first, second and third-down situations before moving on to red-zone drills. Hess connected with Berassa on two perfectly placed throws for scores in the red zone.

The Penguins will hold one practice on Thursday morning at 8 o'clock before returning for two sessions on Friday. The first scrimmage of the fall is set for Saturday at approximately 10 a.m.

Season tickets for the upcoming campaign are on sale now by calling the YSU Athletic Ticket Office at (330) 941-1978.

UPCOMING PRACTICES (All scheduled for Stambaugh Stadium and subject to change)

Thursday, August 9 - 8 a.m.
Friday, August 10 - 9 a.m./5 p.m.
Saturday, August 11 - 10 a.m. (SCRIMMAGE)
Monday, August 13 - 9 a.m./ 5 p.m.
Tuesday, August 14 - 10 a.m.
Wednesday, August 15 - 9 a.m./5 p.m.
Thursday, August 16 - 10 a.m.
Friday, August 17 - 10 a.m.
Saturday, August 18 - 10 a.m. (SCRIMMAGE)
Monday, August 20 - 10 a.m.
Tuesday, August 21 - 10 a.m.