Vote Coach Eric Wolford for Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year

Head Coach Eric Wolford
Head Coach Eric Wolford

Now through Dec. 3, Youngstown State football fans can visit to cast their vote for Head Coach Eric Wolford as the 2013 FCS Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year. Fans can also vote for the first time on Facebook at

The Penguins are off to a 5-1 start to the 2013 campaign and are 2-0 in the Missouri Valley Football Conference for the first time since 2006. The Guins are in the midst of a five-game conference winning streak dating back to last November. It is only the second time in school history YSU has won five straight conference games.

The Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award is the only college football award that supports both charity and scholarship through its winners by celebrating one coach at each college level who best exemplifies responsibility, integrity, sportsmanship and excellence both on and off the field.

Following the close of fan voting on December 3, the top 15 coaches with the most fan votes in each of the four college football divisions advance to an evaluation process to determine the finalists. This process utilizes an objective scoring model endorsed by the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame to measure coaching excellence, sportsmanship, integrity, academic success and community commitment.

Last year's FCS recipient was Sam Houston State's Willie Fritz.