Forty Three Penguins Named to MVFC Honor Roll; Adams Receives Presidents Award

Nate Adams
Nate Adams

St. Louis, Mo. - The Youngstown State football team had 43 student-athletes named to the Missouri Valley Football Conference's 2013-14 Academic Honor Roll, the league announced on Tuesday.

YSU senior tight end Nate Adams was awarded the Missouri Valley Football Conference's Presidents Academic Award.

Ten Penguins received the Commissioner's Academic Excellence Award - Adams, Antoine Cox, Mason Giacomelli, Kurt Hess, Nick Liste, Johnny Medina, D.J. Moss, Torrian Pace, Dom Rich, Carson Sharbaugh.

The President's Council Academic Excellence Award requires a minimum 3.5 cumulative grade-point average (through fall 2013 semester) and participation in athletics a minimum of two years. The student-athlete must be within 18 hours of graduation.

A total of 146 student-athletes received the league's Commissioner's Academic Excellence Award, which requires a minimum GPA of 3.2 for the previous two semesters (freshmen are not eligible).

In addition, the Missouri Valley Football Conference has announced its 2013-14 Honor Roll, which recognizes academic achievement of student-athletes. To qualify for the Honor Roll, a student-athlete must have recorded a minimum 3.0 grade point average for a specified term (Fall 2012), must have been a member of an athletics team, and must have a minimum of 12 hours of enrollment during the fall.


COMMISSIONER'S ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE AWARD - Nate Adams; Antoine Cox; Mason Giacomelli; Kurt Hess; Nick Liste; Johnny Medina; D.J. Moss; Torrian Pace; Dominic Rich; Carson Sharbaugh.

HONOR ROLL - Nate Adams; Matt Bell; Octavius Brown; Christian Bryan; Kyle Bryant; Derrick Burgess; Ali Cheaib; Vince Coleman; Dylan Colucci; Antoine Cox; Donald D'Alesio; Tanner Garry; Mason Giacomelli; Brad Good; Dylan Greenberg; Corey Henry; Kurt Hess; Terry Johnson; Cole Kochman; Emmanuel Kromah; Nick Liste; Anthony Marchionda; Connor McFadden; DeVon McKoy; Johnny Medina; Grant Mercer; Ryan Mosora; D.J. Moss; Eric Myers; Dante Nania; Cole Newsome; Torrian Pace; Michael Palumbo; Anthony Parente; Dom Rich; Carson Sharbaugh; Andrew Sinko; Justin Spencer; Rhamir Thomas; Nick Wargo; Andrew Williams; Jacob Wood; Steve Zaborsky.