Four Former Penguins Named to NFF Hampshire Honor Society

Kurt Hess
Kurt Hess

Former Youngstown State football players Kurt Hess, D.J. Moss, Torrian Pace and Dom Rich were selected to the 2014 NFF Hampshire Honor Society, the organization announced on Tuesday.

The NFF Hamprshire Honor Society is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college career.

A total of 838 student-athletes from 267 schools qualified for membership in the society's eighth year, setting a new record for the number of members in the history of the program, which began in 2007.

The four former Penguins all concluded their careers this past fall leading YSU to an 8-4 overall record and a ranking of 18th in the Sports Network's final 2013 poll. Hess and Rich were captains during their senior season.

"We continue to raise the bar each year for the number of student-athletes who qualify for membership in the Hampshire Honor Society," said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. "The Hampshire Honor Society plays an important role in highlighting that college football players clearly play a leadership role in the classroom as well as on the playing field. We congratulate each of these young men for their commitment to excellence."