42nd Annual Red-White Spring Game Set for Friday Night

YSU Football
YSU Football

The 42nd annual Youngstown State football program's Red-White Spring Game is set for Friday at 7 p.m. at Stambaugh Stadium. Admission is $5 and free for YSU students. The contest will be carried live on 570 WKBN.

Youngstown Mayor John McNally (@MayorMcNally) will serve as an honorary offensive coordinator while Phil Kidd, founder of Defend Youngstown (@Phil_Kidd) is serving as an honorary defensive coordinator. Both McNally and Kidd will be part of the coaching staffs for each squad.

The Penguins will conduct the contest under normal playing rules. The game will be two regulation quarters, however the second half will feature a 30-minute continuous clock. The clock can be stopped when deemed necessary. Punts will be allowed, but can only be fair caught. Possessions following scores will be started at the 30 or 35 yard lines.

Tickets for the Red-White Spring Game are currently available at the YSU Athletic Ticket Office and can be purchased all day on Friday. All seating for the game is general admission and will be in the West stands. The East side will be closed. The gates open at 6 p.m.

Season Tickets will also be available for purchase before and during the game at the YSU Athletic Ticket Office.

Clear Channel Radio will air the game live on 570 WKBN beginning with the pre-game show at 6:40 p.m. Bob Hannon, Chad Krispinsky, Chris Rice and engineer Mike Orto will bring Penguins fans all the action.

Parking will be available in all lots around the stadium. Loge holders should have their permits and will be allowed to park in the F-7 Lot. Marked media vehicles will be allowed to park along Stadium Drive.

As always, no umbrellas, big bags, coolers or cans are permitted in the Stadium. No fans will be allowed on the field following the game, however, weather permitting, postgame interviews will be held on the field (weather permitting).

The Red team has dominated the series of late winning 11 of the past 13 contests. The White squad still owns the all-time series lead by a slim margin of 21-20.