Penguins Have 11 Receive Commissioner's Award; 41 Named to Honor Roll

Shane Kuhn
Shane Kuhn

The Youngstown State football program had 11 student-athletes receive MVFC Commissioner's Academic Excellence Award while a total of 41 were named to the Honor Roll for the 2015 season, the conference announced on Monday.

The student-athletes to receive the Commissioner's Academic Excellence Award are Brad Good, Cole Kochman, Emmanuel Kromah, Shane Kuhn, Connor McFadden, Eric Myers, Derek Rivers, Hunter Wells, Jacob Wood, Charles Zaborsky and Steve Zaborsky.

Those named to the honor roll include: Ivan Adu-Poku, Joe Alessi, Zach Bader, Matt Bell, Shereif Bynum, Joshmere Dawson, Armand Dellovade, Ryan Emans, Cameron Fraser, Joe Gallinatti, Brad Good, Kyle Hegedus, Steven Jeffries, Zak Kennedy, Cole Kochman, Emmanuel Kromah, Shane Kuhn, Avery Larkin, Nathan Mays, Connor McFadden, Cole McKenry, Eric Myers, Michael Palumbo, Curtis Parks, Derek Rivers, Chris Ross, Dalton Rosta, Jeff Rotheram, Jon Saadey, Mark Schuler, Savon Smith, Andre Stubbs, Zack Torbert, Jody Webb, Hunter Wells, Andrew Williams, James Wilson, Jacob Wood, Lee Wright, Charles Zaborsky and Steve Zaborsky.

A total of 148 student-athletes received the league's Commissioner's Academic Excellence Award, which requires a minimum GPA of 3.2 for the previous two semesters (freshmen are not eligible.)

To qualify for the Honor Roll, a student-athlete must have recorded a minimum 3.0 grade-point average for a specified term (Fall 2015), must have been a member of the football team, and must have a minimum of 12 hours of enrollment during the fall. Nearly 500 student-athletes earned Honor Roll recognition.