Penguins Have 14 Receive Commissioner's Award; 34 Named to Honor Roll

Nathan Mays
Nathan Mays

The Youngstown State football program had 14 student-athletes receive MVFC Commissioner's Academic Excellence Award while a total of 34 were named to the Honor Roll for the 2016 season, the conference announced on Friday.

Former Penguin Jacob Wood received the President's Council Academic Award which requires a minimum 3.5 cumulative grade point average (through Fall 2016 semester) and participation in athletics a minimum of two years. The student-athlete must be within 18 hours of graduation. Wood graduated from YSU this past spring.

The student-athletes to receive the Commissioner's Academic Excellence Award are Joe Alessi, Armand Dellovade, Ryan Emans, Kyle Hegedus, Avery Larkin, Nathan Mays, Connor McFadden, Anthony Parente, Curtis Parks, Mark Schuler, Solomon Warfield, Hunter Wells, James Wilson and Jacob Wood

The student-athletes named to the Academic Honor Roll are Joe Alessi, Giacamo Cappabianca, Ricky Davis, Armand Dellovade, Chris Durkin, Ryan Emans, Darius Hall, Kyle Hegedus, Vitas Hrynkiewicz, Shane Kuhn, Avery Larkin, Nathan Mays, Connor McFadden, Sam McGuigan, Cole McKenry, Donovan McWilson, Justin Metzel, Cole Newsome, Steven Pappadakes, Anthony Parente, Curtis Parks, London Pearson, Kevin Rader, Jeff Rotheram, Mark Schuler, Samuel St. Surin, Wesley Thompson, Darien Townsend, Solomon Warfield, Hunter Wells, Marcus Williams, James Wilson, Jacob Wood and Jacob Zinni

A total of 149 student-athletes received the league's Commissioner's Academic Excellence Award, which requires a minimum GPA of 3.2 for the previous two semesters (freshmen are not eligible).

To qualify for the Honor Roll, a student-athlete must have recorded a minimum 3.0 grade-point average for a specified term (Fall 2016), must have been a member of the football team, and must have a minimum of 12 hours of enrollment during the fall. Nearly 500 student-athletes earned Honor Roll recognition.