McCaster, Wethli, Pair of Lineman Named Preseason All-MVFC

Vitas Hrynkiewicz and Gavin Wiggins (Photo by Skip Giesen)
Vitas Hrynkiewicz and Gavin Wiggins (Photo by Skip Giesen)

Senior tailback Tevin McCaster, senior long snapper Steven Wethli, senior center Vitas Hrynkiewicz and senior guard Gavin Wiggins have been named preseason All-Missouri Valley Football Conference, the league announced on Tuesday.

The conference announced its preseason Offensive Team on Tuesday and will announce its preseason Defensive selections on Wednesday.

All four Penguins were recognized at the end of last year for their regular-season performances. McCaster was a first-team selection, Wiggins and Hrynkiewicz were second-team picks while Wethli was an honorable-mention selection.

Joning McCaster in the backfield are North Dakota State's Bruce Anderson and Illinois State's James Robinson on the first team. The other three offensive lineman joining Hrynkiewicz and Wiggins on the first team are Illinois State's Drew Himmelman and North Dakota State's Zack Johnson and Tanner Volson. 

The Penguins open the 2018 season against Butler on Sept. 1 at Stambaugh Stadium. Season tickets and Penguin Club memberships for the upcoming campaign are available by contacting the YSU Athletics Ticket Office at (330) 941-1978.

Follow the Penguins on Twitter and Instagram at @YoungstownStFB for updates.