Basketball Programs Recognize Accomplishments at Annual Awards Banquet

Basketball Programs Recognize Accomplishments at Annual Awards Banquet

More than 150 people were in attendance to celebrate the accomplishments of the 2011-12 Youngstown State men's and women's basketball programs at the annual awards banquet held in the Chestnut Room of YSU's Kilcawley Center.

Women's Basketball Head Coach Bob Boldon presented junior Brandi Brown with the Ed DiGregorio Award recognizing the team's most valuable player.

Brown, the 17th player in school history to score 1,000 career points, was voted Second-Team All-Horizon League for the second consecutive season. Brown averaged 15.9 points and 9.3 rebounds during the season, and she upped her scoring to 17 points per game during Horizon League play. Brown finished sixth in the postseason voting, one spot out of making it onto the first team.

On the men's side, Head Coach Jerry Slocum handed out seven different team awards.

Sophomore Kendrick Perry, a All-Horizon League First-Team selection, won the Dom Rosselli Coaches Award for the team's most valuable player and also earned the Assists Award. Perry led the team with 121 assists.

Perry, who was just the fifth player in league history to lead the league in scoring and steals, led the Guins with 16.8 points per game.

Senior Ashen Ward, who averaged 10.0 points per game, was awarded the Tony Vivo Hustle Award and the Bill Dailey Leadership Award.

Junior guard Blake Allen, who averaged 12.8 points per game and led the Horizon League with 91 3-pointers made, won the Free-Throw Award with a free-throw percentage of .732.

Junior forward Damian Eargle was awarded the Leo Mogus Rebouding Award for leading the team in rebounding with 7.5 rebounds per game. Eargle also led the Horizon League with 121 blocks and was named to the league's All=Defensive Team.

Sophomore Mike Podolsky, who owns a cumulative grad-point average of 4.0, was the recipient of the Four-Square Club Scholar-Athlete Award.