Cameron Morse Named All-Horizon League Second-Team, Naz Bohannon Named to All-Freshman Team

Cameron Morse
Cameron Morse

Indianapolis, Ind. -- Senior Cameron Morse was named All-Horizon League Second-Team and Naz Bohannon was named to the Horizon League All-Freshmen Team after a vote by the league's head coaches, athletics communications directors and selected media, the league announced.

Morse, a 6-foot-2 guard, is just the second Youngstown State player to earn all-league honors in three consecutive seasons after earned first-team honors in 2016-17 and second-team laurels in 2015-16. The Flint, Mich., native ranked seventh in the league in overall scoring with 15.5 points per game, tied for third with 3.9 assists per game and 2.5 made 3-pointers per game. In league play, Morse averaged 17.2 points per game, which ranked fifth, and ranked second in the league with 3.1 3-pointers made per game. 

Morse, who scored in double figures 24 times this season, became just the sixth player in YSU history and the 18th player in Horizon League history to score at least 1,900 career points. He ranks sixth in scoring at Youngstown State and 18th in Horizon League history with 1,900 points. Over the last three Horizon League seasons (54 games), Morse has scored 1,147 points for an average of 21.2 points per game.

Bohannon, a 6-foot-6 forward, ranked third in Horizon League play with 9.0 rebounds per game and ranked fifth overall with 8.1 boards per game. He posted four double-doubles and seven double-digit rebound games, and his 251 rebounds in the regular season were the most by a Youngstown State player since Jerome Sims had 327 in 1991-92 and the fifth-most in YSU's Division I era.

Youngstown State, the No. 9 seed, takes on No. 8 Cleveland State in the first round of the Little Caesar's Horizon League Championship on Friday, March 2, at 8 p.m. in Little Caesar's Arena in Detroit, Mich.

2017-18 Horizon League Post-Season Awards

Player of the Year: Kendrick Nunn, Oakland

Coach of the Year: Scott Nagy, Wright State

Freshman of the Year: Loudon Love, Wright State

Sixth Man of the Year: Godwin Boahen, UIC

Defensive Player of the Year: Tai Odiase, UIC


All-League First Team (alphabetical by school)

Khalil Small, Green Bay

Drew McDonald, Northern Kentucky

Jalen Hayes, Oakland

Kendrick Nunn, Oakland

Grant Benzinger, Wright State


All-League Second Team (alphabetical by school)

Kameron Chatman, Detroit Mercy

Jeremiah Bell, Milwaukee

Lavone Holland II, Northern Kentucky

Loudon Love, Wright State

Cameron Morse, Youngstown State


All-Freshman Team (alphabetical by school)

Tyree Appleby, Cleveland State

Jermaine Jackson Jr., Detroit Mercy

Jalen Tate, Northern Kentucky

Loudon Love, Wright State

Naz Bohannon, Youngstown State


All-Defensive Team (alphabetical by school)

Khalil Small, Green Bay

Jalen Tate, Northern Kentucky

Martez Walker, Oakland

Tai Odiase, UIC

Mark Hughes, Wright State