Notes From YSU's Men's and Women's Outdoor Track and Field Championships

Notes From YSU's Men's and Women's Outdoor Track and Field Championships

Both the Youngstown State men's and women's track and field teams won Horizon League Outdoor Championships on Sunday. It was the seventh title for the women and the first outdoor crown for the men.

The men and women combined to win 11 of 14 individual meet and season awards following the event.

The 199 points scored by the men were the most in the program's outdoor history eclipsing the previous best of 182 set in 2006. The 10-point margin of victory tied for the closest men's championship with the 2001 Championships (Milwaukee-Butler).

The women had 185 points, the fourth most by the program at an outdoor meet while the 69 margin of victory was the most in school history eclipsing the 43 that occurred in 2012.

Women's Notes

The women won for seventh time in school history and are now tied with Milwaukee for the most outdoor titles in Horizon League history.

Jennifer Neider picked up the first Horizon League Outdoor Championship on her career in the shot put and extended a YSU streak of six straight titles and nine of the last 10 at the meet.

YSU's Jessica Parham won the third javelin title of her career with a league-record throw of 44.75 meters. Parham previously won titles in 2011 and 2012.

Samantha Hamilton picked up impressive victories in the 5,000-meter run and the 10,000-meter run. It marked the third consecutive year that a women's runner had won both events at the same meet. Hamilton's previous three titles were in the steeplechase.

Nina Grambling became the third person to win back-to-back 100-meter dash's with her narrow victory. Grambling also won her first career 200-meter dash at the meet. She is the sixth runner to win both the 100m and 200m at the same HL Championships, joining teammate Ciara Jarrett who won both in 2011 and 2012.

Men's Notes

Milwaukee had won 10 straight outdoor championships dating back to 2004. YSU had previously finished second to the Panthers in 2006, 2008, 2009, 2011 and 2012. The Guins were runner up to Detroit in 2003.

Austin McLean won the 3,000m steeplechase on Saturday night while teammate Eric Rupe placed second. McLean became the first Penguin since Kurt Michaelis won the 2004 title.

Jay Jakovina became the second Penguin to win the long jump on Saturday. Previously the only YSU long jumper to win the outdoor crown was Shayne York in 2008.

In the shot put, Bobby Grace won the title giving the Penguins a win in seven straight and eight of the last nine Horizon League outdoor meets in that event. Grace won his third Horizon League Outdoor shot put title becoming the fourth three-time winner in the event.

Conner Neu became the fourth Penguin to win the hammer throw with his record-setting winning toss of 64.22 meters.

Rupe won the 5,000-meter run becoming just the second YSU runner to win that event. Rupe joins Kip Tisia who won the 5,000m in 2009 as the only Guins to win the event. McLean was second in the event, which helped clinch the championship for the Penguins.