Women Earn Fourth HL Indoor Championship; Win By 80 Points

Women Earn Fourth HL Indoor Championship; Win By 80 Points

The Youngstown State women's track and field team used a solid second day performance to pull away and earn their fourth Horizon League Indoor Championship and first since 2008 on Sunday afternoon at the WATTS.

On Sunday,  Ciara Jarrett, Jennifer Neider, Mackenzie Sturtz and Jen Shiley all ended up winning the titles in their events.

The women's final score was YSU with 171 points, Detroit came in second place with 91 points, Milwaukee came in third with 76 points, UIC was fourth with 62 points, Valparaiso had 46 points to finish in fifth, Wright State was sixth with 42 points and Oakland was seventh with 39 points.

The Guins who earned Horizon League Performance Awards were McKinsie Klim, Track Freshman of the Year, Waibel, Field Freshman of the Year, and the Women's Coach of the Year Award went to Coach Brian Gorby.

Sturtz kept a YSU-title streak going in the high jump by earning first place. She was able to jump 1.69 meters and make it YSU's seventh straight high jump Championship title. Jumping with Sturtz was freshman Chenera Lacey and junior Leanna Hartsough. Both made it inside the top six with Lacy finishing in third place and Hartsough finishing in fifth place both of them leaping 1.60 meters.

The triple jumpers consisting of freshman Savannah Osborne, Ellie Pollock, Lacey and senior Kendall Homan all managed to score points. Osborne placed in third jumping 11.51 meters and Pollock had a jump of 11.11 meters finishing right behind Osborne in fourth place. Lacey and Homan also finished back to back with Lacy finishing ahead of Homan in fifth place jumping 11.08 meters and Homan in sixth place with a jump of 10.89 meters. Osborne, Lacy, and Homan all had personal best jumps in the finals of triple jump.

The women's 60 meter hurdles had one Penguin finish in the final top six as freshman Sage Spotleson ran a time of 9.07 seconds to secure the fourth place spot.

Neider is the other Penguin to keep a streak going as she won the women's shot put with a toss of 14.00 meters. This makes it her second consecutive title in the shot put at the Horizon League Championships and makes it YSU's fourth straight in the event. Freshman Jayne Corbett was also competing in the shot put as she ended up with a fourth place finish throwing the shot put 13.54 meters.

Ranked number one in the Horizon League in the 400 meter dash, Shiley, showed her speed as she broke her own personal-best time by .33 seconds to take home the title. Shiley beat the second place finisher Shannon Marchant of Detroit by .65 seconds.

Nina Grambling, Jarrett, and Alexis Washington all competed in the 60-meter dash. Grambling finished with the fastest time of them all with a time of 7.63 seconds to finish in second place. Jarrett ended up right behind her to place in third running a time of 7.64 seconds as Washington finished in fifth with a time of 7.82 seconds.

In the 200 meter dash, Jarrett defended her title for the fourth year in a row as she once again won the event becoming the first ever four-time Penguin champion in one event. She ran a time of 24.61 seconds to beat out teammate Grambling, who took second place, with a time of 24.77 seconds. This marked Jarrett's second title of the 2014 Horizon League Championships.

Washington was also in the mix as she finished in fifth place at a time of 25.32 seconds. Senior Alexis Cooper slipped in the sixth-place spot in the 800 meter run with a time of 2:16.31 seconds which would make it her fastest time of the year.

Freshman McKinsie Klim ran in the 3,000 meter run where she happened to finish in fifth place with a final time of 10:24.08.

YSU women's 4x400 meter relay team consisting of Alteeka Vanwright, Jarrett, Cooper and Shiley came in second place running a time of 3:50.46 seconds behind Detroit who ran a time 3:50.73 seconds.