Three Penguins Win Events at Campbell Wright Invitational

Arnaldo Morales
Arnaldo Morales

Akron, Ohio - Nina Grambling, Conner Neu and Arnaldo Morales all won events for the Youngstown State track and field teams as the Penguins competed at the Campbell Wright Invitational hosted by Akron at Lee Jackson Field on Friday and Saturday.

On Friday, Neu won the discus with a season-long throw of 62.70 meters. He was coming off a season-best performance which came at last weekend's Horizon League Championships. He won the event by 2.42 meters at the Campbell Wright Invitational.

Grambling clocked a time of 11.79 seconds in the 100m to win by 0.21 seconds.

Morales and teammate Jay Jakovina each cleared 2.09 meters in the high jump. Morales cleared the height on his first attempt while Jakovina eclipsed the bar at 2.09m on his second try.

In the 100-meter dash, Marcellus Embry had YSU's top time at 10.71 seconds. Also for the Penguins, Carl Zallow had a time of 10.76 seconds and Leighton Antonio finished with a 10.83. Zallow was third in the 200m dash with a time of 21.51 seconds.

In the 400-meter dash for the women, Jennifer Shiley was third with a time of 1:00.18 while Taylor McDonald was fourth at 1:01.83. Shiley's time in the event eclipsed the school record set by Nicole Pachol in May 2013 at the Horizon League Championships.

Jennifer Neider was fourth in the shot put with a throw of 14.37m. For the men, Ryan Booth placed fifth in the shot with a throw of 16.50m.

The Campbell Wright Invite featured athletes from YSU, Kent State, Akron, Ashland, York University and various unattached competitors.