Seven Penguins Named Academic All-Horizon League

Carl Zallow
Carl Zallow

The Youngstown State men's and women's track and field teams combined to place seven student-athletes on the Horizon League's Indoor Track and Field All-Academic Team the league announced on Monday.

Men's student-athletes to be named Academic All-Horizon League are Dylan Dombi, Ryan Sullivan, Carl Zallow and Chad Zallow. Women's student-athletes to earn Academic All-Horizon League recognition are Jaynee Corbett, Abby Jones and Sarina Mauerman.

It is the third time that Carl Zallow has been named to the team while Sullivan and Chad Zallow were named academic all-league for the second time. Corbett is also a three-time selection while Mauerman and Jones are two-time honorees.

Nine Horizon League institutions are represented among the two All-Academic teams. Youngstown State leads the league with a total of seven honorees. Milwaukee boasts six student-athletes, while Detroit Mercy added five. Northern Kentucky, Oakland, and UIC had four honorees each. Three student-athletes from Wright State, two from IUPUI, and one from Cleveland State were also recognized.

The Horizon League recognizes student-athletes with seasonal Academic All-League teams in each of its 19 championship sports. To be eligible for Horizon League All-Academic consideration, a student-athlete must have a cumulative grade-point-average of 3.20 or higher (based on a 4.00 scale) and have completed at least one year at the member institution, having earned 24 semester-hour or 36 quarter-hour credits.

The Penguins are next in action on Saturday and Sunday when they play host to the Horizon League Championships at the WATTS.