Zallow Set to Compete in 60m Hurdles At NCAA Track and Field Championships

Chad Zallow
Chad Zallow

Two-time All-American Chad Zallow will take to the track on Friday night at the NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships in the semifinals of the 60m hurdles at 7:55 p.m. Eastern time. Zallow will be part of the first heat at the Texas A&M's Gilliam Indoor Stadium in College Station.

The top two from each heat and next four fastest times will advance to the finals. The finals are set for Saturday at 6:10 p.m. Each race will be live on Watch ESPN and later televised on ESPNU/ESPN2.

Zallow had a strong showing at the track last year placing third to earn first-team All-America status. He won his semifinal heat with a time of 7.65 seconds before running a 7.72 in the finals. Florida's Grant Holloway returns to defend his 2017 title in the event. 

In Zallow's heat are Halloway (7.42 seconds), Nebraska's Antoine Lloyd (7.68 seconds) and two runners who have top times of 7.71 seconds - Liberty's Jovaine Atkinson and Cal's Ashtyn Davis. Five of the eight runners in the second heat also have times of 7.71 seconds or below.

Another Steller Indoor Campaign

  • Ranked fourth in the NCAA in the 60m hurdles with a top time of 7.65 seconds.
  • Has won the 60m hurdles seven times this year. Has also posted the fastest times in the prelims in all of his hurdles races.
  • 2018 Horizon League Indoor Champion 60m hurdles (7.73 seconds). Ran a time of 7.66 seconds in the prelims.
  • 2018 Horizon League Indoor Champion 60m dash (6.80 seconds). Ran a meet record time of 6.75 seconds in the prelims.
  • 2018 Horizon League Indoor Champion 200m dash (21.55 seconds).
  • Named Horizon League's Indoor Championship Outstanding Running Performer
  • Finished fourth at the NYRR Millrose Games against professional runners with an impressive time of 7.70 seconds.
  • Won the 60m hurdles at the YSU Icebreaker (7.65), Kent State Golden Flash Gala (7.71), YSU College Invitational (7.77), Dr. Sander Invitational Armory Challenge (7.66), the SPIRE NCAA Invitational (7.75 seconds), Akron Zips Invitational (7.87 seconds) and the Horizon League Championships (7.73).
  • 2018 Horizon League Alfreeda Goff Athlete of the Year 

Third Place at NCAAs in 2017
Finals - He finished third in the 60m hurdles at the NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships at Texas A&M's Gilliam Indoor Stadium.

Zallow ran a time of 7.72 seconds to finish behind Florida's Grant Holloway who ran a winning time of 7.58 seconds while Syracuse's Freddie Crittenden III finished second at 7.67 seconds. After a good start, Zallow clipped the first hurdle with has back foot before knocking down the second. He recovered well to finish strong and was able to place third in a fast race as seven of the eight competitors ran under 7.85 seconds.

Prelims - He won his 60m hurdles prelims heat at the NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships at Texas A&M's Gilliam Indoor Stadium. 

Zallow took first place in the second heat of the night with a time of 7.65 seconds winning by .04 seconds. Zallow just needed to finish in the top two of his heat, but took first beating Kentucky's Nick Anderson who ran a time of 7.69 seconds.

Ninth Place at NCAAs in 2016
Prelims - He just missed qualifying for finals in the 60-meter hurdles by .006 seconds at the NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships at the Birmingham CrossPlex in Birmingham, Ala.

He ran a time of 7.767 seconds, which was incredibly close to South Carolina senior Dondre Echols' mark of 7.761. Zallow took ninth to receive Second-Team All-America honors.

NCAA Participants in 2016, 2017 and 2018

Zallow is just one of 21 athletes - eight of which are runners - who will compete at the NCAA meet for three consecutive years. 

Ncincilili Titi – South Carolina (200m)
Kenzo Cotton – Arkansas (200m)
Obi Igobwe – Arkansas (400m)
Robert Heppenstall – Wake Forest (800m)
Isaiah Harris – Penn State (800m)
Justyn Knight – Syracuse (3,000m)
Colby Gilbreth – Washington (3,000m)
Chad Zallow – Youngstown State (60m hurdles)
Trey Culver – Texas Tech (High Jump)
Randall Cunningham – USC (High Jump)
Audie Wyatt – Texas A&M (Pole Vault)
Torben Laidig – Virginia Tech (Pole Vault)
Deakin Volz – Virginia Tech (Pole Vault)
Will Williams – Texas A&M (Long Jump)
Mostafa Jassan – Colorado State (Shot Put)
Denzel Comenentia – Georgia (Shot Put)
Dotun Ogundeji – UCLA (Shot Put)
Nicolai Ceban – Kansas (Shot Put)
Josh Davis – North Carolina State (Weight Throw)
Tim Duckworth – Kentucky (Heptathlon)
Karl Saluri – Georgia (Heptathlon)