Zallow, Sprinters Propel Men to Fourth Consecutive Horizon League Title

Zallow, Sprinters Propel Men to Fourth Consecutive Horizon League Title

Senior Chad Zallow won three events and Sean Peterson won the 800m as the Youngstown State men's track and field team won their fourth consecutive Horizon League Indoor Track and Field title on Sunday at the WATTS.

The Penguins scored a school-record 238 points which crushes last year's school record (201). The men's score is the second highest total in league history, and is the most a team has scored since Notre Dame finished with 242.5 points in 1985. Oakland finished second with 128 overall points while Milwaukee was third with 125 points. The 110-point margin of victory was also a school-record performance.

For the fourth straight year, Zallow won the 60m dash and 60m hurdles, while also winning the 200m dash for the third consecutive year. Zallow becomes the first sprinter in Horizon League history to win the 60m dash four times, and the 60m hurdles four times. Zallow also became the second three-time winner in the 200m dash.

Zallow won the 60m hurdles in 7.69 seconds as the Penguins went 1-2-3 in the event. Collin Harden finished in second place with a personal-best time of 7.99 seconds and Cole Smith was third with personal-best time of 8.05 seconds. 

Zallow continued his dominance by winning the 60m dash in a school, meet, and facility record time of 6.69 seconds. The Penguins went 1-2-3 in the event with Brendon Lucas in second and Jamynk Jackson in third. Lucas and Jackson both finished with personal-best times. 

Zallow won his third Horizon League title in the 200m dash after breaking the meet record with a time of 21.29 seconds. Jackson finished second with a personal-best time of 21.71 seconds, while Lucas was third and Josh Beaumont was fourth with a time 21.99 seconds. 

Peterson won his second consecutive Horizon League title in the 800m after finishing in 1:53.18. Peterson turned it up a notch down the stretch to become the first back-to-back winner in the event since 1999-2000. 

Dom Westbay took second place in the shot put after throwing 17.35m on his final attempt of the afternoon. Brandon Orlando and Zach Gehm finished just behind in third and fourth place. Orlando had a toss of 16.27m while Gehm threw a personal-best mark of 16.16m.

Cole Lovett finished strong down the stretch of the mile run to capture a second-place finish with a time of 4:19.53. 

Harden and Cody Sikora took second and third in the 400m. Harden finished in 48.10 seconds while Sikora came in at personal-best time of 48.43 seconds. 

Stefan Pontius recorded a fourth-place finish in the heptathlon after scoring 4,283 points.

YSU capped off an impressive afternoon with a second-place finish in the 4x400. The relay team of Cody Sikora, Brendon Lucas, Cole Smith and Pierlus Stewart posted a time of 3:18.17.

YSU Award Winners
Running Outstanding Performer of the Meet - Chad Zallow
Field Outstanding Performer of the Meet - Nicolette Kreatsoulas
Running Freshman of the Year - Suerethia Henderson
Field Freshman of the Year - Olivia Jones
Coach of the Year - Brian Gorby

Men's Teams
1. Youngstown State, 238
2. Oakland, 128
3. Milwaukee, 125
4. UIC, 73
5. IUPUI, 32
6. Northern Kentucky, 32
7. Detroit Mercy, 24