Women Capture Fifth Horizon League Championship In Six Years

Photo by David Dermer
Photo by David Dermer

The Youngstown State women's track and field team won their third consecutive Horizon League Indoor championship and claimed their fifth in the last six years on Sunday from the WATTS.

Three different Penguins won their events and the team finished with 193 points which was the second most in program history. Finishing second was Oakland with 143.50 points while Milwaukee was third at 86.50.

Junior Jaliyah Elliott dominated the track today for the Penguins by winning the 60m dash and 200m dash. In the 60m dash, Elliott broke her own school record by .01 seconds with a time of 7.25 seconds. In the 200m dash, Elliott could not be stopped as she smashed another school record with a time of 23.35 seconds. Elliott's victory marked the ninth straight year that a Penguin has won the event. 

Freshman Suerethia Henderson was also impressive as she was the runner up in both of those events. In the 60m dash, Henderson posted a personal-best time of 7.58 seconds and in the 200m dash, she finished in 24.33 seconds.

Natalie Fleming finished strong down the stretch to win the Horizon League title in the 800m. Fleming finished with the second fastest time in school history at 2:13.37, and become the first Penguin to ever win the event.

Kaitlyn Merwin won the shot put with a toss of 15.29m marking the ninth straight year that a Penguin has won the event. Nicolette Kreatsoulas was the runner-up with a throw of 13.23m.

Abby Jones finished as the runner-up in the high jump after clearing 1.75m. Jones broke her own school record in the event after clearing that mark. 

Nicole Squatrito ran the second fastest mile time in school history on her way to a second place finish. Squatrito finished with a time 4:58.06. Chontel Fils finished as the runner-up in the triple-jump after jumping 12.15m on here final attempt and Chandler Killins was third after jumping 11.93m on her final attempt.

In the 60m hurdles, Destiny Washington placed second place in the 60m hurdles after finishing with a time of 8.81 second.

Iva Domitrovich took third place in the 400m after finishing with in a personal-best time of 57.10 seconds.

YSU Award Winners
Running Outstanding Performer of the Meet - Chad Zallow
Field Outstanding Performer of the Meet - Nicolette Kreatsoulas
Running Freshman of the Year - Suerethia Henderson
Field Freshman of the Year - Olivia Jones
Coach of the Year - Brian Gorby 


Women's Teams
1. Youngstown State, 193
2. Oakland, 143.5
3. Milwaukee, 86.5
4. Wright State, 61
5. Northern Kentucky, 60
6. Cleveland State, 41
7. UIC, 36
8. IUPUI, 24
9. Detroit Mercy, 18