Penguins Forge Ahead in Second OT to Beat Malone

Heidi Schlegel
Heidi Schlegel

Youngstown -- Junior Heidi Schlegel and senior Karen Flagg each posted double-doubles and four players scored in double figures as the Youngstown State women's basketball team defeated Malone 80-73 in double overtime on Monday afternoon at the Beeghly Center.

Schlegel led the Penguins (3-6) with 25 points and 12 rebounds while Flagg finished with 16 points and 12 boards. Senior Liz Hornberger and freshman Jenna Hirsch each scored 13 points. Schlegel was 9-of-22 from the field while Hornberger had a team-high six assists.

Deborah Simmers led Malone (5-4) with 21 points and Sydnee Penn added 18 for the Pioneers, who fall to 5-4.

The Guins couldn't shake Malone in the first half holding onto a 35-31 lead at the break. YSU led for most of the second half before the Pioneers tied the game at 63 on a 3-pointer by Penn with 2.4 seconds left. The biggest lead for the Guins was 48-36 at the 14:52 mark following a Latisha Walker basket.

In the first overtime, the Pioneers led 69-67 before a Hornberger jumper with 13 seconds left to tie the game at 69-69 and sent it into the second extra frame.

The Penguins scored eight straight points to open the second overtime and jumped out to a 77-69 lead with 2:05 left. Hornberger and Schlegel each made layups, and Schlegel made two free throws and hit a jumper to give the Penguins an eight-point cushion.

Two free throws by Leslie Raifsnider got the Pioneers within five, 78-73, with 47 seconds left, but senior Monica Touvelle sealed the game with two charity tosses with seven seconds left. YSU outscored the Pioneers 11-4.

For the game, YSU shot 38 percent making 27-of-71 attempts while the Pioneers shot 40.3 percent (31-of-77). The Guins had a huge advantage from the free-throw line making 21-of-29 attempts while Malone made all four of its shots. 

The Penguins go on the road for the first time this month when they play Delaware in the opening round of a tournament hosted at Lehigh. Tipoff for the contest is 7:30 p.m. in the Christmas City Classic.