Women's Golf Begins Play at Kiawah Island Spring Classic on Sunday

Puthita Khuanrudee (Photo by Drae Smith)
Puthita Khuanrudee (Photo by Drae Smith)

The Youngstown State women's golf team will continue its spring schedule Sunday with the Kiawah Island Spring Classic hosted by the College of Charleston at Kiawah Island Golf Resort in Kiawah Island, S.C.

The Penguins are coming off a second-place finish in their spring debut at the Motor City Cup match play event at Mission Inn Resort & Club in Howey-In-The-Hills, Fla., on Feb. 4-5.

Tabbed as the largest collegiate golf tournament in the country, the 2019 edition of the Kiawah Island Spring Classic has expanded from 43 teams to 48 in this year's field. Two courses, Osprey Point and Oak Point, will be used for the three-day, 54-hole tournament. After 36 holes of play, the top 24 teams will play for the championship at Osprey Point during the final round, while teams 25-48 will play for a flight championship at Oak Point.

Head Coach Nate Miklos has announced that YSU's lineup will include Katlyn Shutt, Victoria Grans, Puthita Khuanrudee, Rattika Sittigool and Jenna Vivo. Shutt, Grans and Khuanrudee have competed in all six of the team's events this season while Sittigool and Vivo have each participated in five tournaments.

The teams will play the first two rounds on Monday and Tuesday with the morning wave of teams scheduled for a shotgun start at 8:45 a.m., and afternoon wave slated for a 1:30 p.m. start. The final round will begin Tuesday morning with an 8:45 shotgun start. Live scoring will be available via Golfstat.com and the Golfstat app.

Last year at the event, host College of Charleston won the team title with a three-round score of 872 (+8) followed by runner-up Murray State (+15). Jacksonville State's Valentina Giraldo, Murray State's Lucila Puente Rodriguez and UNCW's Lyberty Anderson tied for individual medalist honors (-5).

Course Information:

  • Osprey Point – Kiawah Island Golf Resort – Par 72 – 5,984 yards
  • Oak Point – Kiawah Island Golf Resort  – Par 72 – 5,977 yards

Participating Teams (48):

Bethune Cookman, Boston University, Bucknell, Butler, Charleston Southern, Coastal Carolina, College of Charleston, Dayton, Delaware, Elon, Fairfield, Fairleigh Dickinson, Georgia Southern, Hampton, High Point, Hofstra, Indiana State, IUPUI, Jacksonville, Jacksonville State, Lehigh, Lipscomb, Longwood, Monmouth, Murray State, Navy, North Alabama, North Florida, UNC Asheville, UNCG, Omaha, Presbyterian, Quinnipiac, Richmond, Sacred Heart, SCAD Savannah, South Dakota, South Florida, Stetson, Tennessee Tech, UT Arlington, Towson, Tulsa, USC Upstate, Western Carolina, William & Mary, Wyoming and Youngstown State.

For news and updates throughout the season, follow the YSU women's golf program on Twitter @YSUWomensGolf