Volleyball to Host Two Tournaments in Home-Heavy 2019 Schedule

Valor Haggery (Photo by Regina Thompson)
Valor Haggery (Photo by Regina Thompson)

The Youngstown State volleyball team will host two non-conference tournaments and play a school record 15 of its 29 regular-season matches in Beeghly Center in 2019, YSU head coach Aline Scott announced.

Youngstown State will begin the season at home on Aug. 30 against Saint Francis U in what will be the first of seven non-conference matches on Rosselli Court in 2019. The Penguins will host their tournaments the first and last weekends of the non-conference schedule on Aug. 30-31 and Sept. 20-21, and they will also host Kent State before Horizon League play begins.

The Penguins have previously played a high of 13 home matches in a season in 2013 and 1990.

In addition to SFU, the Penguins will host Bucknell and The Citadel the opening weekend at Beeghly Center. YSU will then travel to Cornell for a tournament against the Big Red, Niagara and Hartford on Sept. 6-7 in their first road contests of the campaign. The Penguins will host Kent State in its lone midweek non-conference match of the season on Sept. 10 before heading to Towson for a tournament against the Tigers, Albany and Coastal Carolina on Sept. 13-14.

Youngstown State's non-conference schedule will conclude the weekend of Sept. 20-21 as it hosts Robert Morris, Eastern Illinois and Central Michigan in another tournament.

YSU's Horizon League schedule will begin on Sept. 27 at Northern Kentucky, and the Penguins will also play at Wright State in the opening road swing. After that, Youngstown State will play at home at least once in six of the final seven weekends of the season.

The Horizon League home opener will be Oct. 4 against UIC, and YSU will remain home to host Milwaukee the following afternoon. The remaining home schedule includes Green Bay on Oct. 11, Oakland on Oct. 20, Cleveland State on Nov. 1, IUPUI on Nov. 6, Wright State on Nov. 15 and Northern Kentucky on Nov. 16.

The Horizon League Volleyball Championship will be held Nov. 22-24 on the campus of the regular-season champion.